30 Comments
Sep 13, 2022Liked by Milli Hill

Good to be here! I’m a professional writer - done many books, scripts, copy writing, 1000s of published articles in newspapers & mags, because I’ve been around forever. But the project that’s bugging me because it’s not commissioned and I don’t have a deadline is the story of Annie, butcher’s wife, who murdered her toddler in 1898. She is real (husband’s great great aunt). Fiction, non-fiction….I don’t know yet! I have a bunch of research. So being a part of an observation/discussion of the writing and publishing process might give me a kick.

Expand full comment

Hi, I am Anna, I had an idea to write a book back in January, and have dedicated much of 2022 to research whilst writing notes. So far I have 34 pages in a jumbled order, the idea is clearer in my head than on paper at the moment. Much like Milli I have a passion for women's human rights particularly in the birth world, and that's what my book will be focussing on. Looking for inspiration to help me grow :-)

Expand full comment
Sep 13, 2022Liked by Milli Hill

Hi all, I’m Emma and have been toying with the idea of writing a self coaching book around health. I have a background in healthcare / teaching / coaching and made a few positive changes to my lifestyle when trying for a baby. I felt amazing and would love to write about this.

So far I’ve got headings, notes on my own experience and some coaching questions and tools in these areas, just need to keep building on this but then have ABSOLUTELY ZERO IDEA about getting a book published! I do feel it’s a itch that I need to scratch though, so it’s great to be here 😊 Am currently on maternity leave though so time / finances are limited but am keen to take as much in as I can 👍🏻

Expand full comment
Sep 13, 2022Liked by Milli Hill

Hello. This seems like a great idea Milli! I don't have such concrete plans as the others who've commented so far, although writing a book is one of many things I might do one day :-) So really, I'm probably just procrastinating and shouldn't be here, but it does seem like this will be a lovely community of inspiring people and I wonder if it might help me to see myself as someone who could do something creative like writing a book if I stick around. If I wrote a book it might be about "How can I get my children off their screens?" (something I'm terrible at but I have tried a lot of things!) or possibly "How to have a random adventure" (something we've experimented with quite a bit in our family).

Expand full comment

Hello. My name is Gilli. I have ambitions to write a work of fiction which is supportive of the ideals I believe in. I have started several times over the years, but never progressed.

Expand full comment

Hi,

My name is Trish. I've always wanted to write a non fiction book but wouldn't know where to start. I've been a big fan of Milli's since reading The Positive Birth book 8 years ago. I'm hoping to use The Book Forge as a way to get started writing my own book.

Xx

Expand full comment

Hi I'm Robin, a mother, midwife and volunteer breastfeeding counsellor who loves to write. I live in New Zealand, so am envious of the many opportunities you who live in the UK have to meet and mingle. One of my favourite topics is matrescence, that is women transitioning to motherhood. I am also fighting to halt the erasure of mothers and women in all areas, but especially in anything to do with maternity care. Besides breastfeeding, my main passions are informed consent, VBAC and training my border collie.

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022·edited Sep 15, 2022Liked by Milli Hill

Hi I’m chris I’m Australian. a Midwife for 40 years ,and a yoga teacher

My life long frustration as with most midwives is trying to create and maintain the a birth space that supports the woman completely and the physiology of birth allowing the free birthing flow of hormones. A huge challenge when we are constantly bombarded by technology interventions and undermining of the Woman's confidence. The other concern is inconstant undermining and disregard of midwives role skill and intuition . My perspective is that supporting the physiology of birth is paramount and the birth space it’s physical environment ,how clinicians behave in this space is critical . I’m presently working on a proposal for the rural hospital in which I work to try and change doctors perspectives , and support and nourish midwives

It’s Important that doctors and midwives are feeling they can contribute and make a difference To involve ourselves emotionally as well as professionally to achieve

to create and maintain the a birth space that supports the woman completely and the physiology of birth allowing the free birthing flow of hormones. A huge challenge when we are constantly bombarded by technology interventions and undermining of the Woman's confidence. The other concern is inconstant undermining and disregard of midwives role skill and intuition .

Acknowledgment that there needs to be a change is the first step. YES …. I think there is a book in me but have no idea how to get started 😊❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Milli Hill

Hi Milli. Thanks for including me on this. I'm not sure if i'm the right person to be here as i'm not a writer of books - but it sounds interesting!

I'm a consultant obstetrician and academic in Liverpool who was inspired by 'Give Birth like a feminist' several years ago, and now try to share some of its messages in my academic writings when the opportunity arises. I do have a draft of an book called 'Care: an obstetrician's journey' which tells through stories how my experiences in the NHS, Africa and in my personal life have shaped my understanding of what I think providing wholistic maternity care is really about. I've completed 1 full chapter and only have outlines of the rest. I showed it to a friend who was in publishing who said that they enjoyed it but thought that the market was over-crowded with medial biographies... So it's now been sat in a pile beside my desk for the last 3 years! So i'd be interested to get an insight into how it's done properly for what is going to be a retirement project in 10 years time I think!

Expand full comment
Sep 13, 2022Liked by Milli Hill

Hi

I’m Charlie! I have never written a book but may do one day…. A clairvoyant told me I would when I was 16. Almost 30 years later and one hasn’t appeared yet.

I’m a wife, mother, recently diagnosed ADHDer, aiming to be a responsive gentle parent but with 2 ND kids somewhat harder than I ever imagined, gardening enthusiast, sometime sloe gin & blackberry crumble forager, occasional hot choc & rum mountain skier and in my day job I advise large business on governance, risk and compliance tax issues!!

I’ve joined because I keep seeing Substack mentioned on Instagram and Twitter, by female writers I follow there….. & I wondered what it was all about… So here I am!

Expand full comment

Hi Milli and everyone

What a great idea Milli, thank you so much for including me. I am Nicky - I am a midwife and I have written a book as part of a PhD in Creative Writing, but the thesis isn't quite finished. My book is an experimental memoir of my life as a mother and midwife. I am working on the critical section of the PhD and editing the whole thesis, including the memoir. I am finding it hard to focus on this last part of the writing process as I have a fairly new job as midwifery lecturer which is taking up most of my time, energy and mental focus. So being part of a writing community, with such an inspirational woman as Milli, is exactly what I need! I can't wait to learn more about your next project Milli, and everyone else's projects.

Expand full comment